• Send us an Email!
  • Back to Top

Episode 227 – All the AVR, All the Time

primal surge

This episode, there’s not much going on other than the full reveal of Avacyn Restored.  So we go through each color, pointing stuff out.  Powerful cards, awesome (or gross) art, cards we can’t wait to play with, stuff that we think is utter crap.  You know the drill.  Everyone’s doing it this time of year.  But we do it with our own dorky style!  There’s actually not much else to talk about on this one, so I’ll leave you with a link to the full set so you can check it out yourself.

Avacyn Restored Card Image Gallery

 

Intro & Outro Music – Diamond by Swift – http://www.swift-band.com
Break Music – Blue (Da Ba Dee) by Eiffel 65

Forum thread for this episode: http://cardshark.freeforums.org/episode-227-all-the-avr-all-the-time-t803.html
Check out our archive at http://themanapool.com
Our Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/TheManaPool
Our Google+ page: http://gplus.to/themanapool
Email us at dorks@themanapool.com
Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/themanapool
Cardshark Member Promotions: http://www.cardshark.com/Promotions/Member-Promotions.aspx
Subscribe to our RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/themanapool

This entry was posted in Podcast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

10 Comments

  1. Daniel Beach
    April 30, 2012 at 1:15 am | Permalink

    I hate to keep pointing out rules errors (I’ve been doing it an awful lot lately; caught Lansdell a couple days ago), but A Dual Casting’d Rite of Ruin _can_ have a different order chosen for it. RoR is not modal, specifies no additional costs, and does not distribute or divide anything, so all the choices made for it are made upon the resolution of each RoR and are made individually.
    (For each copy) you do however have to choose the complete order at once; you _can’t_ wait to see what objects they sacrifice for the first type before naming the second.

    • April 30, 2012 at 8:31 am | Permalink

      I guess the presence of the word “choose” at the beginning of the rules text threw me off.

  2. AJ
    April 30, 2012 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    Just heard a comment about Barter in Blood not being reprinted since Mirrodin. It was in the Duel Decks: Divine Vs. Demonic…irony? Yes?

  3. Myke Okuhara
    April 30, 2012 at 11:23 pm | Permalink

    Builder’s Blessing reminded me of Castle as well, so imagine my surprise when looking up Castle that the “unless it’s attacking” clause has actually been removed from Castle since Sixth Edition. Builder’s Blessing is, in fact, a functional reprint now. Still not very good, but at least relevant what with Vigilance being a much more common keyword now than then.

    Glad you mentioned the Machete order for Star Wars. I actually came up with a similar concept for the Star Trek films. It starts with Wrath of Khan, then you proceed to Voyage Home, then First Contact, then Wrath of Khan, then Voyage Home, then First Contact, then Wrath of Khan, then Voyage Home, and finish it off with First Contact. You’d be surprised how much better this order makes The Final Frontier and Insurrection.

    • Dan
      May 4, 2012 at 12:18 pm | Permalink

      I feel like this updated order takes away from the necessary “Klingons quoting Shakespeare” and “Kirk finding ways to almost fall down large chasms and barely pull himself back up” elements that The Undiscovered Country and Star Trek 09 bring to the table.

      • May 4, 2012 at 12:38 pm | Permalink

        Shakespeare is so much better in the original Klingon.

  4. John A.
    August 14, 2012 at 12:12 am | Permalink

    Is Descent into Madness even comparable to Smokestack? Mike?

    • August 14, 2012 at 7:55 am | Permalink

      I can’t remember the details of the conversation in this episode anymore. Yes, Descent is very comparable to Smokestack, because of the nature of the effect, but it’s definitely not as powerful. If I suggested they were on the same power level, then I misspoke.

      • John A.
        August 14, 2012 at 10:57 pm | Permalink

        No no no, you didn’t bring anything like that up, I just thought it was and wanted a second opinion

Leave a Reply

Your email will never be published or displayed.

Connect with Facebook

(Required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>